Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

PROPOSED ELECTION OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that due to change in work arrangement of Mr. Chen Shengguang, the Non-Executive Director of the Company, Guangdong Rising Holdings Group Co., Ltd., a shareholder holding more than 5% of the shares of the Company, has recommended that Mr. Lyu Yongzhong ("Mr. Lyu") serve as the Non-Executive Director of the Company in place of Mr. Chen Shengguang. The Board will seek approval for the proposed election of Mr. Lyu as the Non-Executive Director from the shareholders of the Company. The relevant proposed appointment will be effective from the date of approval by the shareholders of the Company at the annual general meeting for the year 2024 to be convened by the Company (the "AGM") until the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2025 to be held in year 2026.

Mr. Lyu Yongzhong, age 56, has an executive master degree in business administration. Mr. Lyu served as a Vice President of Guangdong Provincial Communication Group Co., Ltd., a director and the President of Guangdong Province Navigation Group Co., Ltd. and the Chairman of Guangdong Salt Industry Group Co., Ltd. Mr. Lyu is currently the Chairman of Guangdong Rising Holdings Group Co., Ltd.*.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. Lyu did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies in the past three years nor does he currently hold any other positions with any group companies of the Company or have any relationship with any other director, supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Company. Furthermore, Mr. Lyu does not have any interests in shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of Laws of Hong Kong). Save as disclosed herein, there is no other information relating to the proposed election of Mr. Lyu that should be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor any other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

^{*} A substantial shareholder of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance

The proposed election of Non-Executive Director will be submitted for approval by the shareholders of the Company at the AGM. Upon obtaining shareholders' approval at the AGM, the Company will enter into a service contract with Mr. Lyu. Pursuant to the Directors' remuneration proposal for the eighth session of the Board as approved by the shareholders of the Company at the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2022, Mr. Lyu as the Non-Executive Director shall not receive remuneration from the Company. A circular of the AGM containing, among other things, details of the proposed election of Non-Executive Director will be despatched to the shareholders of the Company in due course.

By Order of the Board

China Telecom Corporation Limited

Ke Ruiwen

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, China, 25 April 2025

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Ke Ruiwen (as the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer); Mr. Liu Guiqing, Mr. Tang Ke and Mr. Li Yinghui (as the Chief Financial Officer) (all as the Executive Vice Presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the Non-Executive Director); Mr. Ng Kar Ling Johnny, Mr. Yeung Chi Wai, Jason, Mr. Chen Dongqi and Madam Lyu Wei (all as the Independent Non-Executive Directors).